ST BRIDES MINOR COMMUNITY COUNCIL



MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF ST BRIDES MINOR COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 22nd MAY 2023 AT SARN CENTRE AND VIA ZOOM

PRESENT

Councillors:

Martin Williams (Chair for items 1,2 & 3) Mark John (Chair items 4 onwards)

E Davies (via zoom) Y Walton-Davies P Ford (via zoom) D McConnell S Morgan T Nicholls T Thomas (from 6.09 via zoom) B Tiltman

Apologies:	Councillors Rob Teahan-Dyer and Elaine Jones
Clerk:	Ann Harris
Public:	1 Member of the Public

1/2023 TO RECEIVE APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

As above.

2/2023 TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made for items on the agenda.

3/2023 TO APPOINT A CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2023/24

Councillor M John was proposed and seconded as Chair. A vote was taken.

In addition, Members reviewed the previous resolution that Chair's stand for two years at a time.

It was not possible to hand over the Civic Chains of Office to the new Chair as they are currently being engraved.

Resolved:

Councillor Mark John was unanimously elected Chair of Council and took over chairing the meeting from this point. Councillor John said it was an honour and a privilege to serve as Chair. It was unanimously agreed that the term of office for the Chair and Vice-Chair is one year.

4/2023 TO APPOINT A VICE-CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2023/24

Councillor B Tiltman was proposed and seconded as Chair. A vote was taken.

A Vice-Chair's Chain of Office was handed over to Councillor Tiltman.

Resolved

Councillor Bernard Tiltman was unanimously elected Vice-Chair of Council.

5/2023 <u>TO RECEIVE A COPY OF THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MAY 2022 MEETING AS</u> <u>AN AIDE MEMOIRE</u>

The minutes were received and noted.

6/2023 TO DETERMINE A TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS FOR 2023/2024

The Clerk had distributed a list of meetings for the year.

Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed that the council meetings would remain on the 2nd Monday of the month and start at 6.00 pm with the exception of the May meeting which would follow the Ordinary Meeting.

7/2023 TO APPOINT COMMITTEES AND AGREE THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE:

The Clerk had circulated the Terms of Reference in advance of the meeting and these were approved and accepted

Resolved:

It was agreed to review these committee members once a full council is in place.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

- > Councillor Emma Davies
- > Councillor Yvonne-Walton Davies
- > Councillor Mark John (Chair of Council)
- > Councillor Terry Nicholls
- > Councillor Bernard Tiltman (Vice-Chair of Council and Chair of Finance)
- > Councillor Martin Williams

STAFF AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEES

- > Councillor Rob Teahan-Dyer
- > Councillor Paula Ford
- > Councillor Mark John (Chair of Council)
- > Councillor Dan McConnell
- > Councillor Martin Williams

8/2023 TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE FOLLOWING:

Resolved:

- It was unanimously agreed to the following:
- > BCBC T&CC Forum Councillor Yvonne Walton-Davies
- Coity Wallia Board of Conservators Councillors Mark John and Yvonne Walton-Davies
- > One Voice Wales Area Committee Councillor Shaun Morgan
- One Voice Wales Larger and Annual Meetings, plus Conferences Councillor Mark John

9/2023 TO NOTE THE 2022/2023 ALLOWANCES FOR THE CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR AS AGREED AT THE DECEMBER 2022 PRECEPT MEETING

It was noted that allowances would be paid in line with the amounts set out in the above meetings and in the timescales agreed in the Allowances Policy

10/2023 TO AGREE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2022/23 AUDIT

It was noted that the agreed auditor for the financial year 2022/2023 was Mr N Davies.

Resolved:

It was agreed to engage the internal auditor services for financial year ending 31st March 2023 with Mr Norman Davies.

11/2023 TO AGREE THE COUNCIL'S SOLICITOR FOR 2023/24

Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed that the Clerk would make enquiries with local solicitors and engage the services of one.

12/2023 AGREEMENT BY ALL TO ADOPT THE COUNCIL'S CODE OF CONDUCT

All Councillors agreed to adopt the Code of Conduct.

The meeting closed at 6.18 pm

Chair of Council

12th June 2023