# ST BRIDES MINOR COMMUNITY COUNCIL



#### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF ST BRIDES MINOR COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 9<sup>th</sup> MAY 2022 AT SARN CENTRE AND VIA ZOOM

# PRESENT

Councillors: E Jones (Chair for items 1,2 & 3)

> R Teahan-Dyer Y Walton-Davies M John (via zoom) M Williams (Incoming Chair from item 4 onwards)

- No Apologies: All present
- Clerk: Ann Harris
- Public: No public in attendance

## 1A/2022 TO RECEIVE APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were none.

#### 2A/2022 TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made for items on the agenda.

#### 3A/2022 TO APPOINT A CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2022/23

#### **Resolved:**

Councillor Martin Williams was unanimously elected Chair of Council and took over chairing the meeting from this point.

## 4A/2022 TO APPOINT A VICE-CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2022/23

#### Resolved

Councillor Mark John was unanimously elected Vice-Chair of Council.

#### 5A/2022 TO RECEIVE A COPY OF THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MAY 2021 MEETING AS AN AIDE MEMOIRE

The minutes were received and noted.

#### 6A/2022 TO DETERMINE A TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS FOR 2022/2023

The Clerk had distributed a list of meetings for the year.

#### Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed that the council meetings would remain on the  $2^{nd}$  Monday of the month and start at 6.00 pm.

## 7A/2022 TO APPOINT COMMITTEES AND AGREE THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE:

The Clerk had circulated the Terms of Reference in advance of the meeting and these were approved and accepted

## Resolved:

It was agreed to review these committee members once a full council is in place.

#### FINANCE COMMITTEE

- Councillor Rob Teahan-Dyer
- > Councillor Mark John (Vice-Chair of Council and Chair of Finance)
- Councillor Elaine Jones
- > Councillor Martin Williams (Chair of Council)
- > Councillor Yvonne-Walton Davies

## STAFF AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEES

- > Councillor Rob Teahan-Dyer
- > Councillor Mark John (Vice-Chair of Council)
- > Councillor Elaine Jones
- > Councillor Martin Williams (Chair of Council and Chair of Committee)
- > Councillor Yvonne-Walton Davies

## 8A/2022 TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE FOLLOWING:

#### **Resolved:**

- It was unanimously agreed to the following:
- > BCBC T&CC Forum Councillor Yvonne Walton-Davies
- Coity Wallia Board of Conservators Councillors Elaine Jones and Yvonne Walton-Davies
- > One Voice Wales Area Committee Councillor Mark John
- One Voice Wales Larger and Annual Meetings, plus Conferences Councillor Martin Williams

## 9A/21-22 <u>TO NOTE THE 2021/2022 ALLOWANCES FOR THE CHAIR AND VICE</u> CHAIR AS AGREED AT THE DECEMBER 2021 PRECEPT MEETING

It was noted that allowances would be paid in line with the amounts set out in the above meetings and in the timescales agreed in the Allowances Policy

## 10A/2022 TO DISCUSS THE IRPW REPORT 2022 ref. ATTENDANCE ALLOWANCE

The change to the IRPW Report 2022 schedules were discussed.

#### Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed to offer the attendance allowance to Councillors, a payment of £30 pa as well as the Councillor Allowance of £150. The Clerk would write to the Councillors asking them to accept or decline the allowances offered, with the exception of any BCBC councillors who were not entitled to claim these allowances.

#### 11A/2022 <u>TO NOTE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2020/21 AS AGREED AT THE MAY</u> 2021 ANNUAL MEETING AND TO AGREE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2022/23

It was noted that the agreed auditor for the financial year 2021/2022 was Mr N Davies.

#### Resolved:

It was agreed to engage the internal auditor services for financial year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2022 with Mr Norman Davies.

#### 12A/2022 TO AGREE THE COUNCIL'S SOLICITOR FOR 202/2023

#### Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed to use the services of King Davies & Partners, Maesteg if legal advice is required.

#### 13A/2022 CODE OF CONDUCT

All Councillors agreed to adopt the Code of Conduct and had signed their Declaration of Acceptance of Office stating this.

The meeting closed at 6.19 pm

Chair of Council