ST BRIDES MINOR COMMUNITY COUNCIL



MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF ST BRIDES MINOR COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 14th SEPTEMBER 2020 VIA TELE-CONFERNENCING

PRESENT

Councillors:

E Jones (Chair for items 1,2 & 3)

D Lewis (Incoming Chair from item 3 onwards)

- E Jones J Lewis M Nott Y Nott Y Walton-Davies M Williams
- No Apologies: Councillors N Evans & G Thomas

Clerk: Ann Harris

Public: No public in attendance

1A/20-21 TO RECEIVE APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies had been received from Councillors P Davies, P Ford, P Harris and F Watkins.

2A/20-21 TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors D Lewis and declared an interest as Members of Bridgend County Borough Council. Councillors D Lewis, J Lewis and Y Nott declared and interest as Committee Members of Sarn Centre Association, Councillor M Nott declared an interest as a Community Gardens tenant and Councillor M Williams declared as a Member of Coity Higher Community Council.

3A/20-21 ITEM 1 TO APPOINT A CHAIR FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE YEAR 2020/21

Resolved:

Cllr David Lewis was nominated and unanimously elected as Chair of St Brides Minor Community Council for the remainder of the year.

Councillor Lewis accepted the position and the Clerk was asked to write to Councillor F Watkins to thank her for her duties as Chair over the last two years.

4A/20-21 ITEM 2 TO APPOINT A VICE-CHAIR FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE YEAR 2020/2021

Resolved

Cllr Janice Lewis was nominated and unanimously elected as Vice Chair of St Brides Minor Community Council for the remainder of the year.

5A/20-21 ITEM 3 TO RECEIVE A COPY OF THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MAY 2019 MEETING AS AN AIDE MEMOIRE

The minutes were received and noted.

6A/20-21 ITEM 4 TO DETERMINE A TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS FOR 2020/2021

Resolved:

It was unanimously agreed that Ordinary Council meetings will take place on the 2nd Monday of each month at 6pm, and that Finance Committee meetings will be held on a quarterly basis if needed, prior to a meeting of that month's Ordinary Council Meeting, with special

meetings to be called as necessary.

7A/20-21 ITEM 5 TO APPOINT COMMITTEES AND AGREE THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE:

Resolved:

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Councillors Y Nott, E Jones, D Lewis, J Lewis and G Thomas were unanimously elected to the Finance Committee. The Terms of Reference would remain unchanged.

STAFF AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEES

Councillors D Lewis, J Lewis, M Nott, F Watkins and M Williams were unanimously elected to these committees. The Terms of Reference would remain unchanged.

8A/20-21 ITEM 6 TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE FOLLOWING:

Resolved: The following were proposed and unanimously elected:

- Town & Community Council Forum Councillor E Jones
- One Voice Wales Area Committee Councillor M Williams
- One Voice Wales Larger Councils Committee Councillor M Williams
- One Voice Wales Annual Meeting and Conference Councillor M Williams
- Coity Wallia Board of Conservators Councillors E Jones & J Lewis

9A/20-21 ITEM 7 TO NOTE THE 2020/21 ALLOWANCES FOR THE CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR AS AGREED AT THE DECEMBER 2019 PRECEPT MEETING

It was noted that allowances would be paid in line with the amounts set out in the above meetings and in the timescales agreed in the Allowances Policy.

10A/20-21 ITEM 8 TO NOTE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2019/20 AS AGREED AT THE MAY 2019 ANNUAL MEETING AND TO AGREE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2020/21

It was noted that the agreed auditor for the financial year 2019/20 was Mr N Davies and

confirmed that the internal auditor for financial year ending 31st March 2021 would be Mr Norman Davies, 34 Bryn Rhedyn, Pencoed CF35 6TL

11A/20-21 CODE OF CONDUCT

All Members agreed to accept and adopt the Code of Conduct going forward into 2020/21, as stated and signed on their Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The meeting closed at 6.16 pm

Chair of Council