ST BRIDES MINOR COMMUNITY COUNCIL



### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF ST BRIDES MINOR COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 22<sup>nd</sup> MAY 2017 AT SARN LIFE LONG LEARNING CENTRE

# PRESENT

Councillors: Elaine Jones (Chair) S Dobbs P Harris S Hyde D Lewis J Lewis M Nott Y Nott L Richards G Thomas F Watkins **M** Williams Clerk: Ann Harris No public in attendance Public:

### 1A/17-18 ITEM 1 TO RECEIVE APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies had been received from Councillor J Phillips.

### 2A/17-18 ITEM 2 TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors D Lewis, J Lewis and G Thomas declared an interest as Members of Bridgend County Borough Council.

## 3A/17-18 ITEM 3 TO APPOINT A CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2017/18

Cllr Elaine Jones, Vice Chair, was nominated and unanimously re-elected as Chair of St Brides Minor Community Council for the ensuing year.

The Chair welcomed the new Members to the meeting and thanked all Members for their confidence in re-electing her for a second year.

## 4A/17-18 ITEM 4 TO APPOINT A VICE-CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2017/18

Cllr Felicity Watkins was nominated and unanimously re-elected as Vice Chair of St Brides Minor Community Council for the ensuing year.

The Vice-Chair thanked all Members for their confidence in re-electing her for a second year and said she would strive to do her best to serve the community.

# 5A/17-18 ITEM 5 TO READ, CONSIDER AND APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MAY 2016 MEETING

As these had been approved at the June 2016 Ordinary Meeting of the Council and were used at this meeting as an aide memoire.

### 6A/17-18 TO DETERMINE A TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS FOR 2017/18

It was unanimously agreed that Full Council meetings will take place on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Monday of each month at 6pm, and that Finance Committee meetings will be held on a quarterly basis, following a meeting of full Council, with special meetings to be called as necessary.

### 7A/17-18 TO APPOINT COMMITTEES AND AGREE THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE: FINANCE COMMITTEE

Cllrs Y Nott, E Jones, D Lewis, F Watkins and P Harris were unanimously re-elected to the Finance Committee. No new committees were appointed at this time. Councillor E Jones was re-elected to Chair.

#### 8A/17-18 TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO ANY COMMITTEES:

- Town & Community Council Forum Councillor E Jones
- Coity Wallia Board of Conservators Councillors E Jones & J Lewis
- School Governors none due for re-election at this time

### 9A/17-18 TO CONFIRM THE CHAIR'S ALLOWANCE FOR 2017-2018

It was proposed and unanimously agreed that the Chair's allowance for 2017/18 remain at £300 and a Vice-Chair's allowance of £150.

The meeting closed at 6.15 pm

••••••

......

Chair of Council

12<sup>th</sup> June 2017